Blue on blue

_MG_6681_MG_6687_MG_6691_MG_6682

Old Navy tee (similar here)–Sylca designs necklace (c/0)–Banana Republic skirt (similar here)–Loren Hope Sarra cuffDaniel Wellington watch (c/o)–Coach bag (similar here)–Aldo heels (also love these ones)

Photos by Rohini V

When I say that I’m crazy about sales, I mean that I’m CRAZY about sales. This teal skirt is a perfect example of my insanity. I spotted it on the Banana Republic website and wanted it desperately. However, I wasn’t even close to willing to pay the full price tag. I proceeded to forget about it until a few weeks later when I spotted in on the clearance page. The only issue was they there was only one size left, and it was much, much too large for me. Undeterred, I bought it anyway.

I then spent the next 3-4 weeks desperately searching for a tailor who wouldn’t charge an arm and a leg to alter the piece. When I was younger and living at my parents’ place, there was a lovely tailor across the street (where he literally knew me by name because I went so often), who would alter pretty much anything I asked for $10. Not the case here. In the end, I physically drove the skirt to my parents’ house, dropped it off at that wonderful tailor’s, left it for a week, and then drove back to pick it up. Needless to say, I didn’t save any money in the long run. But I still, to this day, tell people what a great deal this skirt was. I’ve definitely got some kind of sale brain washing stuff going on!

Linkups on: Walking in Memphis in High Heels, The Pleated Poppy, Pastries, Pumps, and Pi, Sydney Fashion Hunter, Shopping My Closet, Classy Yet Trendy, The Mummy Chronicles, High Latitude Style, Living in Colour Style, The Mix, Daily Style Finds, Penniless Socialite, Curly Crafty Mom & Doused in Pink

 

125 thoughts on “Blue on blue

  1. haha I know that feeling of taking things back to the tailor! Until I found my current lovely tailor (just around the corner from our place) I used to take everything over to the lady near my parents. She even did my wedding dress! So affordable too, despite the long drive and inconvenience of being without something for a while between visits, haha!

    Away From The Blue Blog

    Like

    1. The struggle is real hahah! I think it’s honestly something that might be worth learning, just to save myself the crazy hassle. But I’m always too worried that I’ll screw something up and lose a piece that I love!

      Like

Leave a Reply

